God Appears to Solomon again

1 kgs 9:1-28

Having completed and dedicated the temple, today we learnt that God appeared for a second time to Solomon. God made him know that he heard all the prayers he made about the temple, and promised that his eyes and heart shall be with the temple perpetually.

God however made it also clear to Solomon that he expects obedience from Solomon as his father David did. This would ensure his kingdom would be established as his father’s was. If Solomon and his people however turned from following God, and start to follow other gods, God warned that he would cut them off the land he had given them, and even the temple built would be despised as evil would be brought upon the Israelites because of their disobedience. This shows us that God wants obedience more than any other thing. He wants to live and take pole position in our hearts and not just in a physical building.

The rest of the chapter talked more on Solomon’s reign. His relationship with Hiram, and also Pharaoh the king of Egypt and his daughter who was his wife. Solomon continued to reign administering his land well, as the land and the people enjoyed peace under him.

Some verses to remember

vs 3:  And the LORD said unto him, I have heard thy prayer and thy supplication, that thou hast made before me: I have hallowed this house, which thou hast built, to put my name there for ever; and mine eyes and mine heart shall be there perpetually.

vs 6-7 : But if ye shall at all turn from following me, ye or your children, and will not keep my commandments and my statutes which I have set before you, but go and serve other gods, and worship them: Then will I cut off Israel out of the land which I have given them; and this house, which I have hallowed for my name, will I cast out of my sight; and Israel shall be a proverb and a byword among all people

 

Leave a Reply

