The Divisions of the Sons of Aaron

1 Chr 24:1-31

Continuing from where we left off yesterday, attention was drawn in particular to the divisions of the family of Aaron, Moses‘ brother. Aaron had four sons: Nadab, Abihu, Eleazar and Ithmar. Focus was on Eleazar and Ithamar as Nadab and Abihu died early before their father – this was because they offered strange fire unto God (see Leviticus 9&10).

Zadok and Ahimelech, both priests during the time of David, were from the families of Eleazar and Ithamar respectively. the sons of Eleazar were also described to have more chief men than those from Ithamar. Both families were divided according to lots to be responsible for different services in the house of the Lord.

Chronicles continue to give us insight into names and families with their functions, especially during the reign of David. Everything was indeed in order.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s